Sly & The Family Stone - The Best Of Sly & The Family St

Type:Audio > FLAC
Size:430.44 MB
Uploaded:Feb 29th, 2012
Info Hash:b7dcda26531adc63645d1b84b9d3d66073aa6c09
Sly & The Family Stone - The Best Of Sly & The Family St picture
Best-Of's don't come much better than this: 20 tracks from one of the superlative bands of all time. 
Sly Stone's gift as producer and ringleader was to mesh the emerging big-band, good-time funk sound of the late 1960s with an unerring sense of melody, structure and message. The result, on early hits like "Dance To The Music", "M'Lady", "Stand" and "Everyday People", was some of most gleeful, high-spirited and uplifting music ever made.
Later, as the 1960s gave way to the long hangover of the 70s and Stone himself descended into drug abuse, sophisticated songs like "If You Want Me To Stay" and "Family Affair" took on a melancholic, reflective tinge, while a sharp political edge found its way into "Runnin' Away" and "Don't Call Me Nigger, Whitey". Genius through and through. (Amazon)

All the classic are here including the sublime "Family Affair" the underrated "If You Want Me to Stay" and the strangely influential "Sing a Simple Song" (which was actually originally released as the UK B side of the also influential "Everyday People" - yes, that's here too). We also have makeweight stuff like the unattractive "M'Lady" - a cynical, nearly note for note remake of "Dance to the Music".

So lots of styles, lots of seminal stuff and well worth another spin if you want to understand one of the more important steps along the way to how disco/dance music got to where it is today. (Customer from Amazon)

01. Dance To The Music [3:01]
02. I Want To Take You Higher [5:25]
03. Family Affair [3:05]
04. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Again) [4:43]
05. I Get High On You [3:13]
06. Stand [3:06]
07. M'Lady [2:46]
08. Skin I'm In [2:53]
09. Everyday People [2:22]
10. Sing A Simple Song [3:57]
11. Hot Fun In The Summertime [2:38]
12. Don't Call Me Nigger, Whitey [5:58]
13. Brave & Strong [3:28]
14. Life [3:00]
15. Everybody Is A Star [3:01]
16. If You Want Me To Stay [3:00]
17. (You Caught Me) Smilin' [2:54]
18. Que Sera Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be) [5:22]
19. Runnin' Away [2:56]
20. Family Affair (Remix) [3:53]

Label: Epic / Sony
Released: 1992
Catalogue: 471758 2

Codec: Flac
Compression Level: 5
Quality: High

CD-rip by alekow (EAC and Flac)
Covers Included (400dpi)

Enjoy, Seed and Share